What Is a Good CTR for TikTok Ads?

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On TikTok, split seconds count.

The hook, the engagement, the massive profits that some accounts are reporting — it’s enough to get any ecommerce business excited.

But creating a great ad doesn’t just happen. It’s a special ratio of creative flair and a serious look at the data that gets you results.

And top of the list of numbers you’ll need to keep a close eye on to succeed on TikTok is your CTR, or click-thru-rate. Why? Well, a strong CTR means that your ad is getting views, then keeping those viewers hooked, driving action that goes beyond the ad and down the sales funnel.

So, what exactly is a good CTR for TikTok, and how can you make sure your campaigns are performing at their best? Let’s break it down.

What Is CTR and Why Does It Matter for TikTok Ads?

CTR, or click-through rate, is the number of people who see your ad divided by the number of people who decide to click on it. It’s usually shown as a percentage. As a formula, it looks like this:

(clicks ÷ impressions) x 100

So, if 10,000 people see your ad, and you get 237 clicks, then your click-thru-rate is:

237 ÷ 10,000 = 0.0237 (and not very good!)

While having a great click-through-rate is important for any kind of digital ad, on TikTok, CTR is perhaps even more important because of how the platform works. 

The TikTok algorithmic juggernaut is based wholly on engagement. So the more users interact with your video ads on TikTok, the more likely the platform is to push those ads to a wider audience, the more clicks you get, and so on.

What Is a Good CTR for TikTok Ads?

Now for the big question: what does a good CTR actually look like on TikTok?

On average, CTRs for TikTok ads fall between 1-3%. If your ads are seeing numbers higher than that, then pat yourself on the back. Lower, and you might want to look at making some tweaks.

However, take these figures with a pinch of salt. This is just a benchmark, and what you actually find is that some industries see easier results than others (i.e. trendy Gen Z music is probably going to go down better than B2B software). What’s considered “good” can vary depending on your industry, audience, and creative approach.

Also important is how TikTok stacks up against your ad’s performance on other platforms. TikTok is known for a higher CTR across the board (skewed by its emphasis on engagement above all). Facebook and Instagram ads, on the other hand, have an average CTR of around 0.9 – 1.5%, so don’t expect TikTok-esque figures across the board.

Common Reasons for Low CTR on TikTok Ads

So, now we’ve got our expectations in order, you might be looking at a low CTR and wondering what you can do. The good news is that there are a few common culprits worth investigating.

Start by taking a close look at your ad creative. You already know that TikTok is a visual platform, but just a few small changes to your hook could make the difference. Sure, you already know low-quality content won’t cut it. But experimenting with different hooks (and looking out for that Millennial Pause) could reveal something interesting that gets results.

Targeting is another big factor. If you don’t get your ads in front of the right audience, you could have the sleekest creatives and the clicks still wouldn’t come. That’s where TikTok Ads Manager comes in, as a place for you to refine (and refine again) your audience targeting.

But the last reason might surprise you. TikTok is a notorious shadowbanner, and businesses could face their ads being suppressed for even minor community guideline violations they weren’t aware of. To get around this, and to make sure your ads hit their mark, we recommend running your ads via a TikTok agency ad account, where you can scale without the stress of seeing your hard work ruined by a minor violation.

And finally, what happens after the click is as important (if not more important) than what happens before. Don’t overlook technical factors like slow landing pages, broken links, or unclear calls-to-action. Remember, when users click on your ad only to find a white loading screen, they’ll bounce right away, which can drag down your CTR over time.

How to Improve Your TikTok Ads for Better CTR

Now you know what might be going wrong, it’s time to take some action to improve your click through rate over time. 

Ultimately, improving your stats comes down to understanding what works on TikTok (and what doesn’t), then adapting your approach over and over (and over) again. 

Here are some strategies to get your ads performing better:

  • Never ever neglect your hook. TikTok users have lightning-fast thumbs that dismiss content that doesn’t hold their attention. Your video needs to grab them from the first split second, so experiment with different ways of doing that and get creative. Scroll-stopping ads don’t just look good, they’re usually funny, relevant, and clever, too.
  • Keep it native. The best TikTok ads blend in seamlessly with organic videos, so they don’t even seem like they’re ads. (Remember the golden rule of advertising – no one likes being sold to).
  • Test, test, test. Run A/B (and C/D) tests on different creatives, hooks, and CTAs to see what your audience likes best. Of course, TikTok Ads Manager makes it easy to track performance and identify your top performers, but also it needs continual improvement.
  • Move fast. As soon as you’ve found a trend on TikTok, it seems that it’s already old news. Don’t stall your creatives with endless revisions and tweaks and jump on trends if you can. But whatever you do, move as fast as possible.
  • Optimize your landing pages. Make sure the landing page you’re linking is fast, accurate, and mobile-friendly. Sure, your ad is important, but remember that the next step in the funnel is, too.

Our top tip? 

TikTok ads are never ‘done’. It’s not a set it and forget it kind of deal, and you shouldn’t feel like your CTR has been achieved. Even if you’re able to get a high CTR, there’s always more to achieve, so keep optimizing, keep trending, and keep moving — that’s what TikTok values, after all.

Read also: What is a TikTok Ad Agency Account?

Final Thoughts

On TikTok, CTR means everything. 

You’ll likely see higher click-through figures on TikTok than on other platforms, and it’s easy to get swept up in the excitement of the dollar signs that other retailers are seeing on the platform. 

Yet having a higher CTR on TikTok is not guaranteed, and there could be a few surprising reasons for your ads not performing as you’d expect. To avoid missing out on clicks and conversions, it’s always recommended to use a TikTok agency ad account. This will help you scale your business safely, without falling into the technical errors many advertisers find end in a shadow ban.

Remember, TikTok rewards creativity, speed, and engagement – so mastering your CTR using an agency ad account is the key to unlocking long-term success on the platform.

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